Contact : 022-2282 9293
Home / Mathematics


Department of Mathematics is one of the oldest departments of Institute of Science since existence. The department is headed by eminent people like Dr. Masani, Professor Huzurbazar and Professor V.V. Rane. Currently Anil Pedgaonkar is the Head of the Department. 
The enrolment capacity of the department is 40 in first year M.Sc. and 40 in the second year M.Sc. Currently there are two research guide in our department, viz. Dr. Anil Pedgaonkar and Dr. Selby Jose. Three students are doing Ph.D. under Dr. Anil Pedgaonkar and Six students under Dr. Selby Jose.
The area in which research work is being pursued in the Department include Henstock Urzweil Integration, Commutative Algebra.
The Department has research projects funded by National Agencies.
The Department organizes NET/SET Workshops for students and teachers. It helps many students to clear NET, SET and JRF. Also the department organizes Seminars, Workshops and National Conferences on various topics over the years.